Knowledge

EU Directive 96/64

The first Directive of the European Parliament and the Council of 20 December 1994 (94/62/EG) on packaging and packaging waste entered into force in 1994. Its aim is to reduce the total amount of packaging and its impact on the environment. According to the directive, the person placing the packaging on the market is responsible for compliance with the regulation in any of the EU nations. The specifications cover a multitude of packaging materials (paper, cardboard, glass, plastic & metal), and invoke measures on which materials should be avoided in the production of new packaging through recirculation, recycling and collection.

Responsibility of the Producer

The regulation concerns a strategy of environmental policy also known as “Extended Producer Responsibility” (EPR). Accordingly, the producer and the distributer must pay the environmental costs accrued over the entire life-cycle of their products. This includes, for example, meeting the costs for collection, sorting, and utilisation of packaging.

Through appropriate pricing policy an appeal is created, encouraging the design of environmentally friendly products and packaging. For instance, much higher costs are incurred for non-recyclable materials than for reusable packaging.

The obligations related to the responsibility of the producer can be complied through participation in a return scheme—an option which most producers decide to take.

Take-back Scheme

Take-back, collection and utilisation schemes are logistic schemes for the recovery of products (or parts of them) after usage.

Commonly known are return schemes for packaging materials, waste electrical equipment, and batteries. Returning bottles and batteries, but also the collection of a used washing machine, is familiar to most consumers. Collected products will either be for reused (returnable bottles, euro-pallet), refurbished (e.g. IT hardware), recycled (e.g. washing machines) or professionally disposed(batteries, waste oil).

Take-back schemes prevalently are ecological, but sometimes also economical strategies, which are used for the compliance to extended producer’s responsibility (EPR).

Who is obliged?

Placer on the Market

Placer on the market is every party who places a product on the market for the first time. Usually, it concerns bottlers or those who pack goods, however, it can also apply to retailers which are selling own brand products. When packaged goods are imported from abroad, the party responsible for the goods at the point of border crossing, becomes subject to a licence.

Turnover and Material Quantity Limits

In several countries, so-called turnover and material quantity limits apply, mainly with the motivation to relieve small businesses up from bureaucratic hurdles. Organisations that fall short of the set limits for turnover or material quantity, benefit from simplified processes. For instance, they are either freed up from licensing obligations, report their quantities at less regular intervals, or pay a reduced rate. Because no standardised rule exists in Europe, we recommend you keep a close eye on the continually changing lower limits in all countries

Which packaging needs reporting?

Packaging

The term “packaging” is determined in detail by means of criteria and examples in the Directive 2004/12/EG. The current prevalent definition is as follows:

“Packaging shall mean all products made of any materials of any nature to be used for the containment, protection, handling, delivery and presentation of goods, from raw materials to process goods, from the producer to the user or the consumer. ‘Non-returnable’ items used for the same purposes shall also be considered to constitute packaging.”

Packaging is categorised as sales packaging, grouped packaging, and transport packaging. In addition, in decisions of the commission, separate guidelines for handling pallets, returnable and reusable packaging are written, which will be incorporated into the national legislative text.

The differentiation between different kinds of packaging is a question of detail which varies from country to country. Some countries manage additional categories which, in exceptional cases, also have to be licensed with different return schemes. In other countries the licensing of some categories is non obligatory altogether.

Transport Packaging

Also referred to as “tertiary packaging”, i.e. packaging which facilitates the transport of multiple sales units and avoids transport damage.

Examples

  • Film for securing cargo loads
  • Cardboard boxes for lot sizes
  • Filler (e.g. foam material, bubble wrap, etc.)
  • Foldable plastic transport boxes

Group Packaging

Also referred to as “secondary packaging”, i.e. packaging which contains a particular number of sales units, that either reach the end-user or facilitate stocking of goods on shop shelves. This packaging is mainly used for marketing purposes and can be removed from the goods without influencing their characteristics—they are not an obligatory requirement.

Examples

  • Boxes for spirituous beverages
  • Folding boxes for toothpaste tubes and cosmetic articles
  • Cardboard sheath for a six pack

Sales Packaging

Also referred to as “primary packaging”, i.e. packaging which serves as protection of the goods on the way from commerce to the consumer, often extend product life but also serve marketing purposes. The disposal is at the hands of the end-consumer.

Examples

  • Cosmetic cream jars
  • Drink cartons
  • Laundry detergent bottles
  • Yoghurt cups
  • Cans

Verpackungslizenzierung
in Europa

Für welches Land
benötigen Sie Informationen?

Wissen

EU Direktive 96/64

Die Erste Richtlinie des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 20. Dezember 1994 (94/62/EG) über Verpackungen und Verpackungsabfälle trat 1994 in Kraft. Sie zielt darauf ab, die Gesamtmenge an Verpackungen und deren Auswirkung auf die Umwelt zu reduzieren. Danach ist der Inverkehrbringer von Verpackungen für die Einhaltung der Verordnung im jeweiligen Staat verantwortlich. Die Vorgaben decken eine Vielzahl an Verpackungsmaterialien (Papier, Karton, Glas, Plastik & Metall) ab und rufen zu Maßnahmen auf, welche die Produktion von neuen Verpackungen durch Wiederverwendung, Recycling und Sammeln möglichst verhindern soll.

Herstellerverantwortung

Oft im Englischen unter ‚Extended Producer Responsibility‘ (EPR) zu finden, beschreibt der Begriff eine Strategie der Umweltpolitik. Laut dieser müssen Hersteller und Inverkehrbringer über den gesamten Lebenszyklus ihrer Produkte hinweg nachweislich für deren entstehenden Umweltkosten aufkommen. Dazu gehören z.B. eine Übernahme der Kosten für die Sammlung, Sortierung und Verwertung von Verpackungen.

Durch entsprechende Preispolitik wird ein Anreiz zum Design von möglichst umweltschonenden Produkten geschaffen. Es entstehen beispielsweise weit höhere Kosten für nicht-recycelbares Material als für eine wiederverwendbare Verpackungen.

Die an Herstellerverantwortung gekoppelten Pflichten können durch die Teilnahme an einem Rücknahmesystem erfüllt werden – eine Variante, für die sich die meisten Hersteller entscheiden.

Rücknahmesystem

Rücknahme-, Sammel- und Verwertungssysteme sind logistische Systeme für die Rückgewinnung von Produkten (oder Teile dessen) nach dem Gebrauch.

Gängig sind Rücknahmesysteme für Verpackungsmaterialien, Elektroaltgeräte und Batterien. Die Sammlung von Pfandflaschen und Batterien, aber auch die Abholung einer gebrauchten Waschmaschine, ist den meisten Konsumenten geläufig. Gesammelte Produkte werden der Wiederverwendung (Pfandflaschen, Europaletten etc.), der Neuaufbereitung (z.B. IT-Hardware), dem Recycling (z.B. Waschmaschinen) oder der fachgerechten Entsorgung (Batterien, Altöl etc.) zugeführt.

Rücknahmesysteme sind meist eine ökologische, manchmal aber auch ökonomische Strategien, welche zur Erfüllung der Herstellerverantwortung genutzt wird.

Wer ist verantwortlich?

Inverkehrbringer

Inverkehrbringer ist jede Partei, welche ein Produkt erstmalig auf dem Markt bereitstellt. Meist handelt es sich um Abfüller oder Verpacker, durchaus aber auch um Handelsketten, wenn diese Produkte unter Eigenmarken vertreiben. Beim Import verpackter Ware aus dem Ausland wird jene Partei lizenzpflichtig, welche zum Zeitpunkt des Grenzübertritts Verantwortung für die Ware trägt.

Umsatz- und Mengengrenze

Um Kleinunternehmen von bürokratischen Hürden zu befreien, gelten in einigen Ländern so genannte Umsatz- oder Mengengrenzen. Organisationen, deren Umsatz oder jährliches Verpackungsaufkommen festgelegte Werte unterschreitet, profitieren von vereinfachten Prozessen. So sind sie zum Beispiel entweder von Lizenzierungspflichten befreit, melden ihre Mengen in größeren Abständen oder zahlen einen geringen Pauschalbetrag. Da in Europa keine einheitliche Regelung existiert, empfiehlt es sich, die sich auch durchaus ändernden Untergrenzen aller Länder genau im Blick zu behalten.

Welche Verpackungen sind meldepflichtig?

Verpackungen

Der Begriff ‚Verpackung‘ wird in der Richtlinie 2004/12/EG durch Kriterien und Beispiele genau präzisiert. So lautet die derzeit gängige Definition:

„Verpackungen“ aus beliebeigen Stoffen hergestellte Produkte zur Aufnagme zum Schutz, zur Handhabung, zur Lieferung und zur Darbietung von Waren, die vom Rohstoff bis zum Verarbeitungserzeugnis reichen können und vom Hersteller an den Benutzer oder Verbraucher weitergegeben werden. Auch alle zum selben Zweck verwendeten „Einwegartikel“ sind als Verpackung zu betrachten.“

Verpackungen werden als Verkaufsverpackungen, Umverpackungen und Transportverpackungen kategorisiert. In Komissionsentscheidungen wurden außerdem gesonderte Schreiben für den Umgang mit Paltetten, Pfand-und Mehrwegverpackungen verfasst, welche in die nationalen Gesetzestexte mit aufgenommen wurden.

Die Unterscheidung zwischen den Verpackungsarten ist eine Detailfrage, welche von Land zu Land variiert. Manche Länder führen zusätzliche Kategorien, welche in Ausnahmefällen auch in unterschiedlichen Rücknahmesystemen lizenziert werden müssen. In anderen Ländern entfällt die Lizenzierung einiger Kategorien komplett.

Transportverpackung

Auch „Drittverpackungen“ – Verpackungen, welche die Handhabung und den Transport von mehreren Verkaufseinheiten erleichtert und Transportschäden vermeidet.

Beispiele

  • Folien zum Fixieren von Stückgut
  • Kartons für größere Warenstückzahlen
  • Füllmaterial (z.B. Schaumstofffolie, Luftpolsterfolie etc.)
  • Faltbare Transportboxen aus Kunststoff

Umverpackung

Auch „Zweitverpackungen“ – Verpackungen, welche eine bestimmte Anzahl von Verkaufseinheiten enthalten, an den Endabnehmer weitergegeben oder zur Bestückung von Verkaufsregalen genutzt werden. Diese Verpackungen dienen vornehmlich Marketingzwecken und können von der Ware entfernt werden, ohne deren Eigenschaften zu beeinflussen – sind also nicht „zwingend“ erforderlich

Beispiele

  • Kartons um Spirituosen
  • Faltschachteln für Zahnpastatuben und Kosmetikartikel
  • Pappummantelung für Sixpack Bierdosen

Verkaufsverpackung

Auch „Erstverpackungen“ – Verkaufsverpackungen dienen dem Schutz der Ware auf dem Weg vom Handel zum Konsumenten, verlängern häufig die Haltbarkeit und nutzen auch Marketingzwecken. Die Entsorgung fällt beim Endkonsumenten an.

Beispiele

  • Cremedosen
  • Getränkekartons
  • Butterdosen
  • Waschmittelflaschen
  • Joghurtbecher
  • Konservendosen