30.04.2018

Case Study Italy

One of our large international clients is a food producer active on a global level,, headquartered in Italy. Operating through a number of subsidiary companies in most European countries, our client is obliged to license packaging in, among others, France, Spain, Italy, Belgium and the Netherlands.

The take-backsystems in these countries, currently all of them monopolistically organised, belong to the most complex within Europe in terms of licensing, registration, and quantity reporting. The needed familiarity with material fractions, the classification of product groups, the application of size criteria, or registration for an export waiver are issues that reach far beyond the usual material report and which, therefore, our customers prefer to leave to an expert, namely Interseroh.

For the past five years this customer has trusted in our complete outsourcing service: Interseroh manages all licensing and declaration activities in five European countries. How? The client simply communicates their product and sales data to Interseroh. We compare national licensing systems, (when needed) help with the decision for a partner and assume responsibility for the client’s registration. What follows is a data check: the categorisation of product information and conversion into the required format. Interseroh then carries out the regular, timely quantity reports, handles system changes , monitors the bills, and deals with all incoming communication of the foreign systems in the name of the client.

With Interseroh’s help, our client was able to save licence fees in the amount of €69,000 in just one of the countries within two years of cooperation. The sources for this sizeable saving potential are manifold: faulty declarations of material, incorrect categorisation of product groups or an incomplete application of the bonus system can add up to a significant sum quite rapidly.

Since then, the customer further extended their partnership with Interseroh and, in the context of a consulting project for a further twelve European countries, received a thorough insight into potential risk and saving sources for packaging licences.

Insights gathered from working with many of our large clients:

  • The one, clear overview is missing: International customers often make packaging licences the business of their country subsidiaries, in which case the legal risk and the compliance to the obligations are easy to be missed by the corporate headquarters.
  • IT structure is fragile: Product and material information are often prepared via tools which are highly prone to manual mistakes as well as human failure. Very quickly, these tools become a source of risk.
  • Accessible knowledge is insufficient: Country managers dealing with licensing obligations often lack the legal, material-specific or system knowledge to execute tasks in conformance with national law. In addition, the language barrier can represent a stumbling block in and of its own.

In an effort to tackle these problems, our client will deploy a test version of Interseroh’s European compliance software from January 2018. The web-based software regularly prompts the product manager to upload sales data. Filled to the brim with Interseroh know-how, the software interprets the data and categorises it according to the national legal requirements. The output for the client is a completed and correctly formatted report which meets the requirements of the return scheme. The operational headquarters can view country-specific data uploads and compliance activities on our robust tool, while being completely relieved of burdensome research tasks on a country-specific level.

back

30.04.2018

Fallstudie Italien

Einer unserer internationalen Großkunden ist ein weltweit tätiger Nahrungsmittelproduzent mit Sitz in Italien. Über ein Konstrukt von Tochtergesellschaften in den meisten europäischen Ländern tätig, ist er unter anderem in Frankreich, Spanien, Italien, Belgien und den Niederlanden zur Lizenzierung von Verpackungen verpflichtet.

Die dualen Systeme dieser Länder, momentan alle monopolistisch organisiert, gehören im europäischen Kontext der Lizenzierung, Registrierung und Mengenmeldung zu den komplexesten. Das Wissen um Fraktionen, die Zuordnung von Produktgruppen, die Anwendung von Größenkriterien oder die Anmeldung einer Exportbefreiung sind Sachverhalte, welche weit über die herkömmliche Mengenmeldung hinausgehen und von unserem Kunden gern in den Händen eines Experten gesehen werden: nämlich Interseroh.

Seit bereits fünf Jahren vertraut dieser Kunde unserem kompletten Outsourcing-Service: Interseroh verwaltet alle Lizenzierungs- und Deklarationsaktivitäten in fünf europäischen Ländern. Der Kunde übermittelt Interseroh lediglich Produkt- und Verkaufsdaten. Wir vergleichen nationale Lizenzsysteme, helfen bei Bedarf bei der Entscheidung für einen Partner und übernehmen die Registrierung des Kunden. Es folgen die Kategorisierung der Produktdaten und Überführung in das geforderte Format, die regelmäßige, pünktliche Mengenmeldung, die Verwaltung und Einarbeitung von Systemänderungen, die Überwachung der Abrechnungen und die gesamte anfallende Kommunikation mit den ausländischen Systemen im Namen unseres Kunden.

Mit Hilfe von Interseroh konnte der Kunde in nur einem der Länder innerhalb von zwei Jahren Lizenzgebühren in Höhe von 69.000 € einsparen. Die Quellen solch hohen Einsparungspotentials sind vielfältig: fehlerhafte Materialdeklaration, inkorrekte Kategorisierung von Produktgruppen oder eine lückenhafte Anwendung des Bonussystems können sich schnell zu einer signifikanten Summe aufschaukeln.

Seitdem hat der Kunde seine Partnerschaft mit Interseroh weiter ausgebaut und im Rahmen eines Beratungsprojekts für weitere zwölf europäische Länder einen tiefen Einblick in potenzielle Gefahren- und Einsparungsquellen für Verpackungslizenzen erhalten.

Erkenntnisse, welche wir von vielen unserer Großkunden kennen:

  • Der Überblick fehlt: Bei internationalen Kunden werden Verpackungslizenzen oft zur Ländersache gemacht, wobei sich Rechtsrisiko und Einhaltung der Verpflichtungen leicht den Augen der Zentrale entziehen.
  • Die IT-Struktur ist anfällig: Produkt- und Materialdaten werden häufig über gängige, für manuelle Fehler sowie menschliches Versagen stark anfällige Rechentools aufbereitet, werden so also zu Risikoherden.
  • Es hakt am Fachwissen: Mit Lizenzierungspflichten beauftragten Ländermanagern fehlen manchmal nicht nur die rechtlichen, materialspezifischen oder systemischen Kenntnisse, um die Aufgabe gesetzeskonform auszuführen. Auch eine simple Sprachbarriere kann schon zum Stolperstein werden.

Bemüht, diese Probleme anzugehen, wird unser Kunde ab Januar 2018 eine Testversion von Interserohs europäischer Compliance-Software einsetzen. Die web-basierte Software fordert Produktmanager regelmäßig dazu auf, Verkaufsdaten hochzuladen. Randvoll gefüttert mit Interseroh-Know-How, interpretiert die Software die Daten und kategorisiert sie gemäß den nationalen Anforderungen. Als Output erhält der Kunde einen abgeschlossenen und fertig formatierten Meldebericht, mit welchem die Pflichten der Rücknahmesysteme erfüllt werden. Die Zentrale kann Datenuploads und Compliance-Aktivitäten der Länder über unser robustes Tool nachvollziehen, während die Landesebene von lästigen Rechercheaufgaben befreit ist.

zurück